27 May 2024 The Irish Film & Television Network

Irish Film and Television Network


Education / Training


Training News

Primetime Emmys Roundup: The Bear sweeps with 10 awards
16 Jan 2024 : Luke Shanahan
Ayo Edebiri
FX series The Bear sweeped the 75th Emmy Awards with 10 wins. Irish prosthetic makeup artist Johnny Murphy and his team won the Creative Primetime Emmy award for Outstanding Prosthetic Makeup bringing The Last of Us up to 8 Emmy awards in total. Limited series BEEF also received eight awards. The cast of Succession took a number of the top acting awards home.

The 75th Emmy Awards took place last night, January 15th, in the Peacock Theatre in Los Angeles. The awards ceremony celebrated a number of television series, some having recently concluded their final season, and some still in their first few seasons.

Most notably in the latter of these two types of TV shows is The Bear, having recently finished its second season. Three of the main cast members received their first Emmy Awards, with Jeremy Allen White winning Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series, Ayo Edebiri winning Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series, and Ebon Moss-Bachrach winning Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series. 

Edebiri has won a significant number of accolades his award seasons including a Golden Globes award, a Critics Choice Award, and a nomination for the BAFTA EE Rising Star Award. In her acceptance speech for her Critics Choice Award, she jokingly thanked Ireland as part of a long-running online joke that she is Irish. Before her Emmy win last night, she said in an interview: “Shout out to my people! Shout out to Derry! Shout out to Cork! Shout out to Killarney! Shout out to Dublin!”

Other awards for The Bear include Outstanding Directing For A Comedy Series, Outstanding Writing For A Comedy Series, and Outstanding Comedy Series for writer, director, and exec producer Christopher Storer. This ties Storer with Lee Sung Jin for most awards received by an Individual at the 75th Emmy Awards.

Lee Sung Jin is the writer, creator, showrunner, and executive producer of Netflix series, BEEF. He received the Emmy awards for Outstanding Directing For A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie, Outstanding Writing For A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie, and Outstanding Limited Or Anthology Series as an exec producer. BEEF’s lead acting duo Steven Yeun and Ali Wong also received the awards for Outstanding Lead Actor In A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie and Outstanding Lead Actress In A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie, respectively.

BEEF and The Last of Us both received eight awards each, with the latter winning Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series (Nick Offerman), Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series (Storm Reid), and a significant number of awards for craft: Outstanding Sound Mixing for a Comedy or Drama Series (One Hour), Outstanding Main Title Design, Outstanding Sound Editing for a Comedy or Drama Series (One Hour), Outstanding Special Visual Effects in a Season or a Movie, and Outstanding Picture Editing for a Drama Series. 

The Creative Emmy awards, which recognise technical achievements in television, were held at an earlier date. Irish prosthetic makeup artist Johnny Murphy was part of the team that won the Primetime Creative Emmy Award for Outstanding Prosthetic Makeup for The Last of Us, and Irish editor Michae Harte won Outstanding Picture Editing For A Nonfiction Program for Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie.

The final season of Succession saw actors Sarah Snook, Kieran Culkin, and Matthew Macfadyen receive the Emmy Awards for Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series (Mcfadyen), Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series (Culkin), and Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series (Snook). Showrunner Jesse Armstrong received Outstanding Writing For A Drama Series, Mark Mylod received Outstanding Directing For A Drama Series. The series also received the award for Outstanding Drama Series.

Sharon Horgan was also nominated in the Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series and Outstanding Writing For A Drama Series categories for her work on Bad Sisters. Also nominated among the Bad Sisters team was Dearbhla Walsh for Outstanding Directing For A Drama Series. Declan Lowney was also nominated in this category for directing the final episode of Ted Lasso, 'So Long, Farewell'.

Better Call Saul has set the record for most Primetime Emmy award nominations without a win, accumulating 53 nominations over the course of its seven year run, and receiving no awards.

Other significant awards at the ceremony include Quinta Bronson, creator and star of comedy series Abbott Elementary, who received Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy Series, making her the first black woman in more than 30 years to win the award, with the previous black recipient of the award being Isabel Sanford in 1981 for The Jeffersons.

Elton John gained EGOT status at the awards ceremony last night, with Elton Live: Farewell From Dodger Stadium winning Outstanding Variety Special. As of the time of writing, there are only 19 individuals in history who have received an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony award. The list includes Audrey Hepburn, Mel Brooks, and most recently Viola Davis.

For the full list of Emmy nominees and awards, click here.

Director Colm Quinn discusses documentary Ransom 79
Oscar-nominated Todd Field discusses directing at IFTA Masterclass
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



canli bahis siteleri rulet siteleri deneme bonusu veren siteler bahis siteleri free spin veren siteler deneme bonusu veren yeni siteler yeni casino siteleri yeni bahis siteleri betwoon grandpashabet
celtabet celtabet giri┼č
slot siteleri betwild pashagaming tipobet hizlibahis cratosroyalbet betwoon kumar siteleri bahis siteleri