21 September 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network

Irish Film and Television Network




Digital Television

Element Pictures’ The Favourite Picks up four EFA Awards as first eight winners announced
19 Nov 2019 : News Desk
The Favourite
The Favourite has been named among the first winners of this year’s European Film Awards by European Film Academy and EFA Productions, which will be awarded at a ceremony in Berlin on December 7th.

A special eight-member jury convened in Berlin and, based on the EFA Feature Film Selection, decided on the winners in the categories cinematography (The Favourite), editing (The Favourite), production design, costume design (The Favourite), hair & make-up (The Favourite), original score, sound and visual effects.

The members of the jury are: Nadia Ben Rachid (editor, France), Vanja Černul (cinematographer, Croatia), Annette Focks (composer, Germany), Gerda Koekoek (hair & make-up artist, Netherlands), Eimer Ní Mhaoldomhnaigh (costume designer, Ireland), Artur Pinheiro (production designer, Portugal), Gisle Tveito (sound designer, Norway) and István Vajda (visual effects, Hungary)

Oscar-nominated Irish cinematographer Robbie Ryan received the European Cinematography award with the jury noting; “The innovative and creative visuals of The Favourite are certainly the work of an exceptional cinematographer, but they also reveal a very intimate collaboration with the director.

“The filmmakers were committed to stay as far away from the photographic conventions of a period drama as they could. The use of natural light and candlelight is reminiscent of Kubrick’s masterpiece Barry Lyndon, while the use of extreme wide-angle lenses takes this approach into a completely new direction. It is both inspiring and encouraging to see how strong imagery and bold cinematographic choices did not take away from the drama, but reinforced it.”

Alongside Ryan, other winners from Element Pictures’ Oscar-nominated feature include Yorgos Mavropsaridis (Editing), Sandy Powell (Costume Design) and Nadia Stacey (Hair & Make-up).

The award recipients and Excellence Jury Members will be guests at the 32nd European Film Awards on 7 December in Berlin.

Lectuer Colin Pauser-Cowman discusses the Springboard+ Postgraduate Diploma in Series Production
Dónall Ó Héalaí on Acting
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter



bodrum escort bayan escort antalya gumbet escort