4 April 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Rep Bodies
Full Rep/Agency Listings
Who's Who
Rep Bodies News
Site Map

Irish Film and Television Network


Rep Bodies


Rep Bodies News

Northern Ireland Student Television Award winners announced by Royal Television Society
25 Mar 2020 : News Desk
Vikkie Taggart, Chair of RTS NI and Maeve McLoughlin, Vice Chair, RTS NI.
The winners of the Royal Television Society Northern Ireland (RTS NI) Student Television Awards have been announced and will be invited to this year’s RTS NI Programme Awards, where their work will be showcased in front of the top professionals across the screen industries.

Ulster University, Belfast picked up the Animation Award for Cosmic Echoes by Phoebe Long, John Hannon, Jakub Bajoaowski and Jack Creaner. Highly commended went to Home by Rhea Hanlon and Méabh Gilheany, also at Ulster University.

The winner of the Comedy and Entertainment category was Crème Brulee or Chocolate Souffle? by Michael Murray Draine, Stacey Burns, Jack Devlin, Ronan Karicos, Mark Hanna, Callum Russell, and Dylan Kane from Belfast Metropolitan College. Highly commended went to Fun Times in Sinister Pines by Carolan Brolly, Benjamin Porter and Jared Green, Ulster University.

In Drama, the honours went to NI Film and Television School at SERC, Bangor for Circle by Marc McCabe, Samantha Davies, Stephen Parker, and Lee Seales. Highly commended went to The Man in the Bath by Elsa Hunter-Weston, Caoilfhionn MacEoin-Manus, Caleb Roberts and Shauna Luckie, Queens University Belfast.

The Factual award went to Ulster University for A Love Letter to my Mum by Margaret Mackel. Highly commended went to Visions of Success by Callum Harrison, Peter Young, and James Nugent, Queens University Belfast.

In the new News category, the winner was Voices of the Border by Brighid Sheridan, Michael Kane, Dionne Meehan, Darren Harkin, Daire Villa, Moya O’Donnell and Joe Kennedy from the North West Regional College. Highly commended went to Rising from the Ashes by Raffaella Carter, Belfast Metropolitan College.

The Short Form Award went to In the Now by Marie-Louise McKenna and Caoimhe Lennon, Ulster University. Highly commended went to Big Boys Don’t Cry by Ellery Wooff, Queen’s University Belfast.

And the Craft Award (camera work) went to Lost Memories by Conor Barrow, David Mcintyre & Tiarnan Hatchell, Ulster University.

Vikkie Taggart, Chair of RTS NI said:

“As an educational charity, these awards help the RTS to raise awareness of the amazing homegrown talent emerging from our third level colleges which play an increasingly important role in preparing future generations for a career in the local film and TV industry.

This year’s entries all displayed very high standards of creativity, innovation, and technical capability and I know the judges had a difficult task selecting our winners. We wish all our Northern Ireland winners every success in the national RTS Awards in June and look forward to showcasing their winning works at our Programme Awards in November.”

The RTS NI Student Television Awards are supported by Northern Ireland Screen, Head of Education, Bernard McCloskey, said:

“Congratulations to everyone who has taken part in this year’s awards. Winning an RTS NI Student Television Award gives these students a prestigious accolade to help them with their future careers. These awards are a great way to nurture and encourage the fantastic creative talent we have in Northern Ireland.”

Maeve McLoughlin, Vice-Chair, RTS NI said:

“These awards provide an amazing platform to showcase the wealth of young talent emerging from across Northern Ireland in the creative industries. Everyone who takes part is a winner by making the most of the opportunities provided by the RTS to meet potential employers and top professionals who can assist with their careers.”

Sponsored by Carson McDowell, Stellify Media, and Performance Film & Media Insurance, the winners of these Awards go forward to the national RTS Student Media Awards, which are planned for June.

Primetime Emmy-nominated Feature Doc Three Identical Strangers now available on Netflix
Irish co-production Four Kids And It releases exclusively on Sky Cinema this April 3rd
Blood writer Sophie Petzal talks with IFTN
Element Pictures adaptation of Sally Rooney's Normal People to air on RTÉ this spring

Primetime Emmy-nominated Feature Doc Three Identical Strangers now available on Netflix
Blood writer Sophie Petzal talks with IFTN
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

Blood writer Sophie Petzal talks with IFTN
30 Mar 2020 
Bow Street host Online Short Film Festival
30 Mar 2020 
RTÉ and Macalla Teo launches daily virtual classroom for primary school children
27 Mar 2020 
Northern Ireland Student Television Award winners announced by Royal Television Society
25 Mar 2020 
Element Pictures adaptation of Sally Rooney's Normal People to air on RTÉ this spring
Screen Ireland commits to initial measures to support the Irish creative screen industries impacted by COVID-19
Arracht wins Best Irish Film at Dublin Film Festival; Audience Award at its UK Premiere at Glasgow Film Festival
Dervla Kirwan and Seána Kerslake revealed as leads for new thriller Smother
Irish Production Companies
Listings for Irish film & television production companies
What's In Production?
The latest info on projects filming in Ireland
Latest Industry Jobs
Job listings for Irish film & television crew

Find us on Facebook
Follow IFTN on Twitter
E-Newsletter Subscribe
Subscribe to RSS Feed

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter