31 May 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Production Companies
Who's Who
Location Services
Labs & Stock
Production News
What's In Production
TV Commissions
Site Map

Irish Film and Television Network




Production News

Northern Ireland Student Television Award winners announced by Royal Television Society
25 Mar 2020 : News Desk
Vikkie Taggart, Chair of RTS NI and Maeve McLoughlin, Vice Chair, RTS NI.
The winners of the Royal Television Society Northern Ireland (RTS NI) Student Television Awards have been announced and will be invited to this yearís RTS NI Programme Awards, where their work will be showcased in front of the top professionals across the screen industries.

Ulster University, Belfast picked up the Animation Award for Cosmic Echoes by Phoebe Long, John Hannon, Jakub Bajoaowski and Jack Creaner. Highly commended went to Home by Rhea Hanlon and Méabh Gilheany, also at Ulster University.

The winner of the Comedy and Entertainment category was Crème Brulee or Chocolate Souffle? by Michael Murray Draine, Stacey Burns, Jack Devlin, Ronan Karicos, Mark Hanna, Callum Russell, and Dylan Kane from Belfast Metropolitan College. Highly commended went to Fun Times in Sinister Pines by Carolan Brolly, Benjamin Porter and Jared Green, Ulster University.

In Drama, the honours went to NI Film and Television School at SERC, Bangor for Circle by Marc McCabe, Samantha Davies, Stephen Parker, and Lee Seales. Highly commended went to The Man in the Bath by Elsa Hunter-Weston, Caoilfhionn MacEoin-Manus, Caleb Roberts and Shauna Luckie, Queens University Belfast.

The Factual award went to Ulster University for A Love Letter to my Mum by Margaret Mackel. Highly commended went to Visions of Success by Callum Harrison, Peter Young, and James Nugent, Queens University Belfast.

In the new News category, the winner was Voices of the Border by Brighid Sheridan, Michael Kane, Dionne Meehan, Darren Harkin, Daire Villa, Moya O’Donnell and Joe Kennedy from the North West Regional College. Highly commended went to Rising from the Ashes by Raffaella Carter, Belfast Metropolitan College.

The Short Form Award went to In the Now by Marie-Louise McKenna and Caoimhe Lennon, Ulster University. Highly commended went to Big Boys Don’t Cry by Ellery Wooff, Queen’s University Belfast.

And the Craft Award (camera work) went to Lost Memories by Conor Barrow, David Mcintyre & Tiarnan Hatchell, Ulster University.

Vikkie Taggart, Chair of RTS NI said:

“As an educational charity, these awards help the RTS to raise awareness of the amazing homegrown talent emerging from our third level colleges which play an increasingly important role in preparing future generations for a career in the local film and TV industry.

This year’s entries all displayed very high standards of creativity, innovation, and technical capability and I know the judges had a difficult task selecting our winners. We wish all our Northern Ireland winners every success in the national RTS Awards in June and look forward to showcasing their winning works at our Programme Awards in November.”

The RTS NI Student Television Awards are supported by Northern Ireland Screen, Head of Education, Bernard McCloskey, said:

“Congratulations to everyone who has taken part in this year’s awards. Winning an RTS NI Student Television Award gives these students a prestigious accolade to help them with their future careers. These awards are a great way to nurture and encourage the fantastic creative talent we have in Northern Ireland.”

Maeve McLoughlin, Vice-Chair, RTS NI said:

“These awards provide an amazing platform to showcase the wealth of young talent emerging from across Northern Ireland in the creative industries. Everyone who takes part is a winner by making the most of the opportunities provided by the RTS to meet potential employers and top professionals who can assist with their careers.”

Sponsored by Carson McDowell, Stellify Media, and Performance Film & Media Insurance, the winners of these Awards go forward to the national RTS Student Media Awards, which are planned for June.

Neasa Hardiman selected for European Voices of Women in Film at Sydney International Film Festival's digital edition
IFTA Launches IFTA Screen Discussions with We Ourselves
Screen Ireland updates plan for return to live action film & television production
Applicants wanted for new Screen Mentoring Scheme introduced by Screen Skills Ireland

Dead Still writer and creator John Morton talks with IFTN
Online Exclusive: Galway Film Fleadh moves 32nd edition online
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

IFTA Launches IFTA Screen Discussions with We Ourselves
28 May 2020 
Screen Ireland updates plan for return to live action film & television production
28 May 2020 
Screen Kerry website launched by Kerry County Council and Kerry ETB
27 May 2020 
Screen Ireland launches Director's Picks, a new weekly series celebrating Irish Shorts on RT… Culture
25 May 2020 
Creative Europe - Single Project Development Spotlight: Planet Korda Pictures
Virgin Media and Sky launch support funds to support smaller Irish businesses
Frank Marshall boards Mixed Bag Media's Irish stowaway adventure film Donít Go Far
Beyond TNC lands UK TV premiere of Sideline's Boomtown Rats documentary
Irish Production Companies
Listings for Irish film & television production companies
What's In Production?
The latest info on projects filming in Ireland
Latest Industry Jobs
Job listings for Irish film & television crew

Find us on Facebook
Follow IFTN on Twitter
E-Newsletter Subscribe
Subscribe to RSS Feed

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors


Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter