11 July 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network

Irish Film and Television Network




Cast News

Irish Bafta Winners: Graham Norton Wins Best Entertainment & Aisling Walsh Wins Best Mini-Series
13 May 2013 : By Kevin Cronin
Graham Norton wins Bafta for Best Entertainment Programme
Bandon’s finest comedy export Graham Norton won the Bafta for Best Entertainment Programme last night at a ceremony which he also hosted - with the other Irish victory for Aisling Walsh, director of Best Mini-Series ‘Room at the Top’.

Norton picked up the award for The Graham Norton Show (BBC One/So Productions) – along with fellow producers Jon Magnusson, Graham Stuart and Steve Smith.

Director Aisling Walsh shared in the Bafta victory for this year’s Best Mini-Series ‘Room at the Top’, the BBC television adaptation of the John Braine novel about a young man in 1940s Yorkshire who attempts to make something of his life following his captivity during World War II.

The mini-series Bafta was jointly awarded to Ms Walsh, Amanda Coe, Paul Frift and Kate Triggs for the Great Meadow Productions for BBC Four.

Ms Walsh is perhaps best known as director of ‘Song for A Raggy Boy’ and has been nominated for four IFTAs in the past, most recently at this year’s ceremony for ‘Loving Miss Hatto’.

Northern Ireland was also well represented among this year's winners with the Bafta for Current Affairs going to ‘The Shame of The Catholic Church’ and the Radio Times Audience Award, as voted for by viewers at home, awarded to ‘Game of Thrones’ - which included a special thanks to Northern Ireland Screen, defeating stiff competition from the Danny Boyle-directed opening ceremony of the Olympics.

The BBC Northern Ireland/This World production ‘The Shame of the Catholic Church’ was produced by Sam Collyns, Alison Millar, Darragh MacIntyre and Seamus McCracken for BBC Two.

Other highlights of last night’s ceremony included two acting Baftas for Olivia Colman for 'Accused (Mo's Story)' and ‘Twenty Twelve’; Ben Whishaw for his performance in 'Richard II (The Hollow Crown)'; Best drama for 'Last Tango In Halifax'; and Steve Coogan as best male in comedy for Alan Partridge’s latest adventure ‘Welcome To The Places Of My Life’.

Former Monty Python star Michael Palin was honoured with the Bafta Fellowship, their equivalent of a lifetime achievement award, for a prolific career spanning comedy and travel documentaries.

To watch the acceptance speeches for Graham Norton, Aisling Walsh, 'Game of Thrones', and 'The Shame of the Catholic Church', click on the links below:

Alan Maher on Producing
Fiona Graham on Cinematography
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter