24 August 2019 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Irish Cinema Release Diary
Irish Distributors
Who's Who
UK Distributors
Irish DVD Distributors
Preview Theatres
Cinema Equipment
Cinema Furnishings
Distribution News
Free Newsletter
Site Map

Irish Film and Television Network




Distribution News

Nominations for the 2019 Irish Animation Awards Revealed
07 Feb 2019 : News Desk
Animation Ireland has revealed the nominees for the third Irish Animation Awards, which will take place in Dingle on Saturday 23rd March, home to the Dingle Film Festival and Animation Dingle.

The nominees were chosen by the IAA judging panel along with two judges from National Schools who are currently deliberating on the ‘Kids Choice Awards’, which will be available in the coming weeks.

The awards will take place at the Dingle Skelligs Hotel on Saturday the 23rd of March 2019, which is also home to the Dingle Film Festival and Animation Dingle. There are 17 categories in total including a brand new category for 2019 with ‘Best Newcomer‘. We are really looking forward to going back to our beloved Dingle again in March 2019 for what has become an internationally renowned and celebrated event.

The awards are sponsored by RTÉ, Screen Ireland, Animation Skillnet, Philip Lee, Celaction, Screen Skills Ireland, Brophy Gillespie and Gorilla Post.


Full List of nominees below:

Best Animated Preschool Series (up to 6 years)

Claude- Sixteen South

Doc McStuffins Christmas Special- Brown Bag Films

Pablo: Back and Forth -Paper Owl Films

Pete the Cat: Sandcastles- Amazon/Cartoon Saloon         

Vampirina: Going Batty – Brown Bag Films
Best Animated Short Film

The Overcoat- Sean Mullen/ Giant Animation

Angela’s Christmas -Damien O’Connor/ Brown Bag Films

The Wireman -Jessica Patterson/ JAM Media

Late Afternoon– Louise Bagnall/ Cartoon Saloon

The Bird and the Whale- Carol Freeman/ Paper Panther
Best International Short Film

All the Things- Chris Guyot & Paul McMahon

My Mother’s Eyes- Jenny Wright

The Masque of Blackness– Epoh Beech

Best Writer for Preschool Animation (up to 6 years)

Becca’s Bunch: Acorn King– Amy Stephenson & Shane Langan 
Claude- Ciarán Morrison & Mick O’Hara/ Sixteen South

Peek Zoo- Emma Hogan/ Dream Logic Studios

Mya Go Karting– Amy Stephenson & Shane Langan/ Piranha Bar

Doc McStuffins Christmas Special– Chris Nee, Brown Bag Films

Best Writer for an Animated Series

Space Chickens in Space: Food Fight -Kristina Yee/Gingerbread Animation

Space Chickens in Space: Alpha Chuck -Mike Heneghan/ Gingerbread Animation

Space Chickens in Space: Floofy Flibby Kiss-Kiss- Ciarán Morrison & Mick O’Hara / Gingerbread Animation

Transformers Cyberverse: Megatron Is My Hero -Peter Di Cicco/Boulder Media

Vampirina: Home Scream Home -Chris Nee/ Brown Bag Films

Best VFX as part of Animated TV Series or Film

Becca’s Bunch -Niall Mooney, Marc Bell, Mark Byrne/JAM Media

Brain Freeze 3 -Ian ‘Benjamin’ Kenny/ Kite Entertainment, Turnip & Duck

Space Chickens in Space – Paul Ruttledge/ Gingerbread Animation

Cúl an Tí: Laoi an Lagáin -Lily Bernard & Cúl an Tí team/ Cartoon Saloon

Pete The Cat: Blackout!– Amazon/Cartoon Saloon

Best Animation for Apps, Gaming and Interactive

Aurora– Pink Kong Studios

Eden Isle: Resort Paradise– Simeractive

Get Curious -Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Hungry Caterpillar Play School -Touchpress

Pablo’s Art World Adventure -Paper Owl Films

Best Design and Art Direction

The Bird and the Whale– Carol Freeman/ Paper Panther Productions

Cúl An Tí: Fé Blath– Ross Stewart/ Cartoon Saloon

Deposits-Trevor Courtney/ Igloo Animations

Becca’s Bunch: Legendary– Conor Finnegan, Niall Mooney, Rafa Diaz Canales/ JAM Media

Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes– Hugh Farley & Ian Kenny

Best Director of an Animated TV Series

Danger Mouse– Aidan McAteer &  Rob Cullen/ Boulder Media

Littlest Pet Shop -Gillian Comerford/Boulder Media

Peek Zoo– Kealan O’Rourke/ Dream Logic Studios

Space Chickens in Space– Tommy & Markus Vad Flaaten/ Gingerbread Animation

The Day Henry Met- Gary Gill/ Wiggleywoo

Best Animation

Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes– Hugh Farley & Ian Kenny

Hopscotch and the Christmas Tree– Tim Frost/ Ink & Light & Kinomind Films

Pete the Cat -John Peavoy, Dave Ridges, John Walsh/ Cartoon Saloon     

The Bird and the Whale– Eimhin McNamara & Carol Freeman/ Paper Panther  

Vampirina: Acrobat Boris – Matteo Ceccotti/ Brown Bag Films Team

Best Music

Danger Mouse: Melted– Sanj Sen and Dominic Lawrence /Boulder Media & Windmill Lane

Peek Zoo- Niall Byrne/ Dream Logic Studios

Late Afternoon– Colm Mac Con Iomaire/Cartoon Saloon

The Doc McStuffins Christmas Special– Stuart Kollmorgen/Brown Bag Films

The Bird and The Whale– Chris McLoughlin/ Paper Panther Productions

Best Sound Design

Angela’s Christmas– Steven Maher and Peter Blayney/ Brown Bag Films

Danger Mouse– Dominic Lawrence and Sol O’Carroll/ Windmill Lane

Pins and Needles– James Nolan/ Brown Bag Films

Space Chickens in Space – Shane O’Toole, Barry Reid,Mark Fitzpatrick/Gorilla Post

Transformers: Matrix of Leadership – Dominic Lawrence, Simon Bird and Ryan Quinn/ Windmill Lane

Best Irish Feature Film or Special

Angela’s Christmas– Damien O’Connor/ Brown Bag Films

Captain Morten the Spider Queen– Kaspar Jancis, Telegael

Hopscotch and the Christmas Tree– Katerina Vykhodtsev, Ink & Light

The Breadwinner– Nora Twomey, Cartoon Saloon

Best Newcomer (New Category!)

Daily Madness

Paper Panther

Pink Kong Studios

Radii Animation

The Rusted Pixel

Kid’s Choice Award For Best  Preschool Animated Series (up to 6 years)

Nominees announced end of February.

Kid’s Choice Award For Best  Animated Series (6-12 years

Nominees announced end of February.

New Belfast-Set Comedy Series ‘My Left Nut’ to Debut on BBC Three
Irish Western Never Grow Old Releases in Irish Cinemas this Friday, August 23rd
Irish-Belgian Co-Production The Other Lamb Selected for 67th San Sebastian Film Festival
Dead Still, Headcases and Dublin Murders Lead the Way for RTÉ's New Season

Aisling Bea’s New Comedy Series ‘This Way Up’ Begins Streaming on Hulu
Damien Molony Talks Brassic Ahead of its Debut on Sky One this Thursday at 10pm
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

Women in Animation Ireland to Present Speed Meeting Event
01 Jul 2019 
From South Park to Star Wars and the Future of Animation: In Conversation with Terrence Masson
29 Mar 2019 
Paper Panther Productions and Nora Twomey Among the Winners at the 2019 Irish Animation Awards
26 Mar 2019 
2019 Irish Animation Awards to Highlight Another Successful Year for Irish Studios
15 Mar 2019 
Dead Still, Headcases and Dublin Murders Lead the Way for RTÉ's New Season
‘Innocent Boy’ Named Winner of Virgin Media Discovers Short Film Competition
Irish Documentarian Pat Collins to World Premiere New Irish Film at TIFF
Northern Irish Film A Bump Along The Way Selected for Toronto Film Festival
Upcoming Festivals
Key dates & deadlines in the Events Diary
Distribution In Ireland
Irish cinema & DVD distribution
Training in Ireland
The latest on Irish film / TV industry training

Find us on Facebook
Follow IFTN on Twitter
E-Newsletter Subscribe
Subscribe to RSS Feed

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter