25 May 2020 The Irish Film & Television Network
Education / Training
Festivals / Markets
Locations Ireland
Post Production
Rep Bodies
Crew Database
What's In Production
Crew News
Site Map

Irish Film and Television Network




Crew News

Winners announced behind closed doors for Youtube Kids Animation Dingle Student Awards 2020
23 Mar 2020 : News Desk
Youtube Kids Animation Dingle Awards
Although Animation Dingle 2020 came to a halt last week when it was decided to cancel the Festival in respect of health and safety and in the wake of Coronavirus, the Festival arrange for an alternative awards presentation to be held online so that the winners could be announced.

A special production and broadcasting of the announcement of the winners was made on Friday 20th March - a date that had been set aside for the YouTube Kids Animation Dingle Awards night in the Dingle Skellig Hotel. 

All students who submitted work were encouraged to watch the streaming of the awards announcements in order to celebrate virtually.

The YouTube Kids Animation Dingle Student Awards was presented by Alan Shanahan and Mark Cumberton of JAM Media. Films were represented from IADT Dun Laoghaire, Ballyfermot, Coláiste Dhúlaigh, IT Tralee, Limerick School of Art and Design, Letterkenny IT, University of Ulster, University of Dundee, LIT Clonmel, and Athlone IT.

The 2020 YouTube Kids Animation Dingle Student Award winners are as follows:

BEST IRISH - Beekeeper, Robyn Conroy, (IADT)

BEST INTERNATIONAL - Shergar, Cora McKenna, (Denmark) 

Best DIRECTOR - Home, Méabh Gilheany & Rhea Hanlon, (Ulster University) 

BEST WRITER - How to Rob a Witch, Liam Fahy, (IADT) 

BEST DESIGN/ART DIRECTION - Outside the box, Janet Grainger, (Colaiste Dhulaigh) 

BEST ANIMATION - Fish for Life, Kerstin Blätterbinder, Lisa Gierlinger, Lukas Mathä, Victoria Wolfersberger, (Austria)

BEST 2D - How to Rob a Witch, Liam Fahy, (IADT) 

Best 3D/CGI - Don't Croak, Daun Kim, (Ringling College of Art and Design, United States)

BEST STOP MOTION - Daughter, Daria Kashcheeva, (Czech Republic) 

BEST MUSIC/SOUND DESIGN - Legend Has It, Ciara Johnson, (BCFE)

Inaugural Best Sting - In Pursuit of BigFoot, Eoin O' Keane (LYIT) 

Inaugural Best Irish Professional Short - An Gadhar Dubh, Director Padraig Fegan, Paper Panther Productions. 

As well as the YouTube Kids Animation Dingle Student Awards, the Festival also runs their annual YAOTY (Young Animator of the Year) competition sponsored by Disney Channels.  The winner of the YAOTY Award was also announced in the broadcast.

The three categories of winners of these very prestigious Awards are as follows:

Gold went to Life in Plastic by Katie Elger from Colaiste Muire, Ennis. Orion Ross, Vice President, Original Programming Animation, Media Networks Europe & Africa, The Walt Disney Company described it as “a complete environmental story with an emotional punch”.

Silver went to Save Our Souls by Aaron Gillespie, from Summerhill College, Sligo; while Bronze went to Starfish by Kellie Flaherty from Scoil Mhuire, Carrick-on-Suir. All 9 finalists will be receiving a gift bag from the Disney Store in the post over the coming weeks.

Animation Dingle is committed to transparency and each year a panel of experts are approached for the adjudication process. Student Judges: Suzanne Kelly - Group Head of Children’s & Young People’s Programming, RTE; Eimear O'Mahony - Executive Producer, Children’s and Young People’s Programming, RTE; Louise Bucknole - VP Programming, Viacom International Media Networks Kids, UK & Ireland; Cecilia Persson - Vice President of Programming and Content Strategy Turner EMEA Kids, Acquisitions and Co-production International. Professional Judges: Peter Lord - Co-founder and Creative Director of Aardman Animation; Darragh O’ Connell - Group Creative Director of Brown Bag Films and 9 Story Media Group; Nicole Rivera - Vice President of Cartoon Network. Sting Judge: Chris Dicker - Head of Development at JAM Media. YAOTY Judges: Shortlisted finalists were selected by Mark Cumberton, COO/Producer JAM Media and Marty Boyland, Lecturer at IT Tralee, Shauna Cullen, JAM Media. The final winner was selected by Orion Ross, Vice President, Original Programming Animation, Media Networks Europe & Africa, and The Walt Disney Company.

Co-founder and Director of Animation Dingle, Maurice Galway said:

“Animation Dingle are delighted to have YouTube Kids as title sponsor to our Student Awards and I want to congratulate every student who entered, was shortlisted and who won an award this year! Viewing all of your work was an absolute pleasure and an honour, thank you!”

BBC Three, BBC Northern Ireland and Northern Ireland Screen expand Youth Content Development Scheme
Dead Still writer and creator John Morton talks with IFTN
Beyond TNC lands UK TV premiere of Sideline's Boomtown Rats documentary
RTÉ Programme Sales close several International deals for Irish factual programming

Dead Still writer and creator John Morton talks with IFTN
Online Exclusive: Galway Film Fleadh moves 32nd edition online
Free Industry Newsletter
Subscribe to IFTN's industry newsletter - it's free and e-mailed directly to your inbox every week.
Click here to sign up.

#archive#relatednews#73#Animation Dingle#Date DESC#4#>
Beyond TNC lands UK TV premiere of Sideline's Boomtown Rats documentary
Submissions open for Kerry International Film Festival as 21st edition targets October showcase
Endeavor Content secures multiple international sales for Element Pictures' Normal People
Galway Film Fair reimagined as an Online Marketplace
Upcoming Festivals
Key dates & deadlines in the Events Diary
Distribution In Ireland
Irish cinema & DVD distribution
Training in Ireland
The latest on Irish film / TV industry training

Find us on Facebook
Follow IFTN on Twitter
E-Newsletter Subscribe
Subscribe to RSS Feed

 the Website  Directory List  Festivals  Who's Who  Locations  Filmography  News  Crew  Actors

Contact Us | Advertise | Copyright | Terms & Conditions | Security & Privacy | RSS Feed | Twitter